WA moves to a controlled border with Victoria

WA has moved to a controlled border with Victoria after the eastern State has been reclassified as ‘low risk’.

People travelling from Victoria to WA will still be required to complete a G2G application, spend 14 days in self-quarantine and undergo COVID-19 testing, but travel without a special exemption will be allowed.

Premier Mark McGowan made the change from a hard to a controlled border with Victoria on Monday (January 18), after the State went nine days without community transmission.

This follows WA implementing a hard border with Victoria on December 31, when there was a rise in COVID-19 cases there.

“The re-introduction of a hard border with Victoria was necessary to protect Western Australians and minimise the risk of COVID-19 spreading in the WA community,” McGowan said.

“It shows that with a controlled border, we can make adjustments swiftly to keep WA safe.”

Victorian arrivals will be required to undergo a health screening and temperature test at Perth Airport and nominate an appropriate location to self-isolate.

States considered ‘very low risk’, meaning residents can enter WA without COVID-19 testing or self-isolating include the Australian Capital Territory, Northern Territory, South Australia and Tasmania.

People from jurisdictions considered ‘medium risk’ are not allowed to enter WA without an exemption and include New South Wales and Queensland.

The WA Chief Health Officer will continue to monitor and review border controls, including Queensland and New South Wales, to determine if any further adjustments can be made in the future.

Travellers who breach WA’s border rules face fines of up to $50,000.

More information how the border restrictions impact interstate travel can be found here.

Share This Post